Gingr alternative
SmoochiPet against Gingr, for pet grooming businesses. Every Gingr statement below comes from Gingr's own public pages, read on 2026-11-02; the sources are listed at the bottom. "not stated" means it was not on the page we read.
Who Gingr is for
Gingr describes its software for businesses that run boarding, daycare, grooming and training, with a grooming page and per-use-case plans (Spa for groomers and trainers, Play for daycare, Stay for boarding).
Feature by feature
| Feature | SmoochiPet | Gingr |
|---|---|---|
| Add-on upsells scoped to the service at online booking | Yes | not stated [1] |
| Processor | Your own Stripe or Square, no cut | Integrated payment processing; every plan lists Integrated Payments [2] |
| Pet report card after a groom | Yes | Yes: photos and activity notes go to the pet parent [1] |
| Vaccine tracking | Yes | Yes: vaccinations and waivers verified before drop-off [1] |
| Reporting | Revenue, bookings, clients, add-ons, service mix, staff productivity, plus an AI digest | Business analytics across locations, services and revenue [1] |
| Built-in social posting of before/afters | Yes | not stated [1] |
| Messenger / Instagram inbox answered by AI | Yes, from the shop's own knowledge | not stated [1] |
| AI assistant | AI skills, digest and agent inbox | not stated [1] |
| AI phone receptionist | Planned (not built) | not stated [1] |
| Bring-your-own AI (MCP) | Yes -- connect the shop's own Claude or ChatGPT | Partners and Integrations page; API details not stated [1] |
| Two-way SMS | Pending carrier registration | 2-Way SMS listed as an add-on (US and Canada) [2] |
| Daycare / boarding | Early access | Yes: boarding, daycare, grooming and training [1] |
| Mobile grooming | Early access (routes not built) | not stated [1] |
| Client login | Optional client accounts, quick-book code | Customer portal and pet parent app in every plan [2] |
| Native staff app | Installable web app today; native app in progress | Mobile app in every plan [2] |
| Migration / onboarding fee | Vagaro import proven; optional done-for-you Launch Package | Migration help and onboarding listed as standard; fee not stated [1] |
| Trial | Free account, then a 14-day trial with card | Demo; no free trial mentioned [2] |
Rows we could not re-read on 2026-11-02 are left out. Bracketed numbers match the sources below. The full table is on Compare.
Where SmoochiPet is different
- An inbox that answers. Messenger and Instagram messages answered by AI from your shop's own knowledge. An AI phone receptionist is planned, not built.
- Clients can book from their own account. Optional client accounts and a quick-book code.
- Pricing you can read. Grooming salons pay per location, from $149 to $399 a month, with unlimited staff and calendars. Annual is 2 months free. Early access pricing -- subject to change. See pricing.
- Your processor, no cut. Checkout on your own Stripe or Square. Bring your own AI, free: connect the assistant you already pay for.
Gingr prices, as printed on its page (2026-11-02)
- Spa $109/month monthly, $100/month annual (groomers and trainers) [2]
- Play $169/month monthly, $142/month annual (daycare) [2]
- Stay $179/month with Integrated Payments, $209/month without (boarding) [2]
Plans differ in shape, so these are not a like-for-like comparison.
Where Gingr may be the better fit
If you also run daycare or boarding today, Gingr lists Play and Stay plans for them and states a customer portal and app in every plan. SmoochiPet lists daycare and boarding as early access.
Questions
Is SmoochiPet a Gingr alternative for a grooming-only shop?
That is the case it is built for: booking, checkout, reminders, report cards and the books behind them, with unlimited staff and calendars. If daycare or boarding is central to your business, read the early-access note on our pricing page first.
Does SmoochiPet charge extra for texting?
Two-way SMS is pending carrier registration on our side, so it is not live yet. Gingr lists 2-Way SMS as an add-on.
Can I move my data across?
Ask for a demo and bring a sample export. We have proven a Vagaro import; other sources are handled case by case, with an optional done-for-you Launch Package.
Try SmoochiPet next to Gingr
Start free and look around, or book a 30-minute demo. Bring your own AI, free: connect the assistant you already pay for.
Sources
- Gingr grooming software page: https://www.gingrapp.com/pet-grooming-software (read 2026-11-02)
- Gingr pricing page: https://www.gingrapp.com/pricing (read 2026-11-02)
- Gingr home page: https://www.gingrapp.com/ (read 2026-11-02)
Gingr is a trademark of its owner; this page is not affiliated with it. Want to see it on your book? Book a demo.